Disclosure: SturdyRide is reader-supported. Some links on this site may be affiliate links, which means we may earn a commission if you buy through them, at no extra cost to you. It never changes what we write. See our Affiliate Disclosure.
Most “best fat tire e-bike” lists rank bikes on looks, top speed and range claims. We think that skips the most important question for anyone shopping this category: how much weight is the bike actually rated to carry? Fat tire e-bikes are often bought by bigger riders, hunters, beach riders and people who haul gear, and those are exactly the people who need to know the payload before anything else.
So this guide ranks seven popular fat tire e-bikes by their published payload, then walks through motor, battery, price and the fine print behind each number.
This guide is research-based. We haven’t ridden these bikes, and we won’t pretend we have. Every spec and price below comes from the manufacturers’ own product pages, linked in the table and in the sources list, checked on October 26, 2026. Many of these prices are sale prices that change often, so confirm everything at checkout. Our full process is on the How We Review page.
Quick answer
- Highest published payload: Velotric Nomad 2X. A 560 lb max bike load, full air suspension, 105 Nm of torque and UL 2849 certification. It’s also one of the priciest hub-motor bikes here at $2,399.
- Best payload for the money: Velotric Nomad 2. A 505 lb max bike load and UL 2849 certification for $1,999.
- Best value under $1,600: Ride1Up Vorsa FT. 440 lb rating, 150 lb rear rack, 95 Nm motor and UL 2849 certification, listed from $1,545 on sale.
- Cheapest way into a 4-inch fat tire bike here: Himiway D5 (Zebra). $1,499 on sale with a 960Wh battery and a 400 lb payload, though only one color was in stock when we checked.
- For serious off-road use: Himiway D7 Pro. A 1000W mid-drive with 160 Nm, 4.8-inch tires and full suspension, at $3,999.
Fat tire e-bikes compared by payload
All figures are as published on each manufacturer’s product page on October 26, 2026, sorted from highest to lowest published payload. Where a spec isn’t listed, we say so instead of guessing. Brands don’t all define “payload” the same way, which we explain in our guide to e-bike weight limits and payload capacity.
| Bike | Published payload | Rear rack | Motor | Battery | Tires | Bike weight | Listed price |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Velotric Nomad 2X | 560 lb (max bike load) | 120 lb | 750W hub, 1400W peak, 105 Nm | 48V 16.7Ah (801.6Wh) | 26 x 4.0″ | 80 lb | $2,399 ($2,499 camo) |
| Velotric Nomad 2 | 505 lb (max bike load) | 66 lb | 750W hub, 1300W peak, 90 Nm | 48V 14.7Ah (705.6Wh) | 26 x 4.0″ | 75 lb | $1,999 |
| Ride1Up Vorsa FT | 440 lb | 150 lb | 750W hub, 95 Nm | 15Ah, Samsung cells (48V system) | 26 x 4″ | Not clearly listed for FT | $1,545–$1,595 (sale; $1,695 regular) |
| Himiway D5 2.0 20″ | 440 lb (rider max 265 lb) | 120 lb | 750W hub, 1300W peak, 90 Nm | 48V 15Ah (optional second 20Ah) | 20 x 4.0″ | 80 lb | $1,999 (sale; $2,199 regular) |
| Himiway D5 (Zebra) | 400 lb | Not listed | 750W hub, 86 Nm | 48V 20Ah (960Wh) | 26 x 4.0″ | 79 lb | $1,499 (sale; $2,299 regular) |
| Aventon Aventure 3 | 400 lb (total weight limit) | Rack included; rating not listed | 36V 750W hub, 1440W in Boost, 80 Nm | 36V 20Ah (733Wh) | 26 x 4.0″ | 76 lb | $1,999 |
| Himiway D7 Pro | 400 lb | Not listed | Bafang M620 1000W mid-drive, 160 Nm | 960Wh | 26 x 4.8″ | 88.6 lb | $3,999 |
One pattern jumps out: the payload numbers cluster between 400 and 560 lb, but only one brand here (Himiway, on the D5 2.0 20″) publishes a separate rider limit. A big headline number doesn’t automatically mean a 350 lb rider is covered, so read the notes below before you decide.
The bikes, one by one
1. Velotric Nomad 2X: highest published payload
Velotric lists the Nomad 2X with a 560 lb max bike load, a 120 lb rear rack and 1,000 lb of towing capacity. It’s a full-suspension bike: a 120 mm air fork with lockout and rebound adjustment, plus a DNM air shock with 80 mm of rear wheel travel. The motor is a 750W hub (1400W peak) with 105 Nm of torque, and the battery is 48V 16.7Ah (801.6Wh). Velotric lists UL 2849 and UL 2271 certification and ISO 4210. The bike weighs 80 lb.
The fine print: Velotric’s spec sheet says “Max Bike Load” without defining it on the product page. On its GoMad utility bike, Velotric says the total includes the bike’s own weight. If the same applies here, subtract 80 lb, which still leaves roughly 480 lb for rider and cargo. Ask Velotric to confirm before you rely on it.
Pros
- Highest published payload and torque among the hub-motor bikes here
- Air suspension front and rear, which can be tuned for a heavier rider
- UL 2849 listed
- Step-thru and high-step frames
Cons
- $400 more than the Nomad 2
- Payload definition and rider limit not stated on the product page
- 80 lb is a lot to lift onto a car rack
Shopping heavy-rider bikes in general? Our best e-bikes for heavy riders guide compares the Nomad 2X against cargo and commuter options too.
2. Velotric Nomad 2: best payload for the money
The Nomad 2 drops the rear shock and air fork but keeps a high rating: Velotric lists a 505 lb max bike load, a 66 lb rear rack and 1,000 lb towing. It has a 750W hub motor (1300W peak) with 90 Nm, a 48V 14.7Ah (705.6Wh) battery, a 100 mm hydraulic fork, Kenda 26 x 4.0″ puncture-resistant tires and 203/180 mm brake rotors. It weighs 75 lb. Velotric lists UL 2849 and UL 2271 certification. Listed rider height runs from 5’2″ to 6’5″ depending on size and frame.
Pros
- Over 500 lb published payload at $1,999
- UL 2849 listed
- Torque and cadence sensor modes
- Wide height range, with step-thru and high-step options
Cons
- 66 lb rear rack is the lowest rack rating in this list
- No rear suspension
- Same undefined “max bike load” question as the 2X
Torn between this and the Himiway Zebra? We compared them in detail in Velotric Nomad 2 vs Himiway Zebra.
3. Ride1Up Vorsa FT: best value under $1,600
The Vorsa comes in three builds, and the FT is the fat tire version, on 26 x 4″ Kenda Krusade tires. Ride1Up lists a 440 lb rating for the Vorsa and Vorsa FT, a 150 lb rear rack rating, a 750W AKM hub motor with 95 Nm, and a 15Ah battery with Samsung cells (the battery is listed as UL 2271 certified, and the bike as certified to ANSI/CAN/UL 2849). It’s a Class 1 to 3 bike with speeds up to 28 mph, and it uses hydraulic disc brakes with 203 mm and 180 mm rotors. At the time we checked, FT builds were listed at $1,545 to $1,595 depending on color, down from $1,695.
Pros
- Lowest price here for a UL 2849 certified fat tire bike
- 150 lb rack: the strongest rack rating in this group
- 95 Nm motor, plus torque and cadence sensing
Cons
- No separate rider limit published
- Battery watt-hours not stated outright on the page (only 15Ah)
- The product page covers three builds, so read carefully to make sure the specs you’re checking apply to the FT
4. Himiway D5 2.0 20″: compact, but check the rider limit
The D5 2.0 20″ is a low step-through fat tire bike on 20 x 4.0″ Kenda tires with a 17″ standover height. Its spec sheet lists a 440 lb bike load capacity, a 120 lb rear rack and an 80 lb bike weight. The motor is a 48V 750W hub (1300W peak) with 90 Nm, the battery is 48V 15Ah with an optional second 20Ah pack, and it has full suspension (90 mm fork, 100 mm rear). Here’s the detail that matters most: the payload note on the product page reads “26″ e-bike – 400 lbs; 20″ e-bike – 440 lbs (rider max 265 lbs / 120 kg).” So the 440 lb figure is the bike’s total, and the rider limit is much lower.
We didn’t find UL 2849 listed on the product page. Pricing: $1,999 with one battery (regular $2,199), or $2,399 with both batteries.
Pros
- Low standover and small wheels make it easy to get on and handle
- Clear, published rider limit, which most brands don’t give
- Dual-battery option for long rides
- Full suspension
Cons
- 265 lb rider max rules it out for many heavier riders
- UL 2849 not listed on the product page
- Heavy for a compact bike at 80 lb
Himiway also sells a 26-inch D5 2.0, which it lists at 400 lb capacity, 92 lb and $2,199 with one battery.
5. Himiway D5 (Zebra): cheapest big battery
The original D5 Zebra lists a 400 lb max payload, a 79 lb weight (with battery), a 48V 20Ah (960Wh) Samsung/LG battery, a 750W hub motor with 86 Nm, and Kenda 26 x 4.0″ tires. Recommended rider height is 5’3″ to 6’5″. It was listed at $1,499, down from $2,299. When we checked, only the Space Grey color was in stock; White and Green showed as unavailable.
Pros
- Lowest listed price here
- Largest battery among the hub-motor bikes in this list
- Tall-rider friendly height range
Cons
- Lowest payload tier here (400 lb), and no rider limit or rack rating published
- UL 2849 not listed on the product page
- Limited color stock at the time of checking
6. Aventon Aventure 3: a clearly worded total limit
Aventon lists the Aventure 3 with a 400 lb “total weight limit” and a 76 lb weight. Unlike some brands, Aventon uses the word “total,” which tells you the figure includes everything you put on the bike. It runs a 36V 750W hub motor rated at 80 Nm, with a Boost Mode that Aventon says delivers up to 120% of rated torque and power (1440W) for up to 30 seconds. The battery is 36V 20Ah (733Wh) with LG cells and is certified to UL 2271. Tires are Inova 26 x 4.0″ puncture resistant, and it ships with a rear rack and fenders. It’s a Class 2 bike, listed at $1,999, with rider heights from 5’3″ to 6’4″. We didn’t find a rack load rating or UL 2849 certification on the product page.
Pros
- Clearly worded total weight limit
- Rack and fenders included
- Boost Mode for short climbs
Cons
- Lowest torque in this list, on a 36V system
- Rack rating and UL 2849 not listed on the product page
- Same $1,999 price as the Nomad 2, which publishes a higher payload
7. Himiway D7 Pro: the off-road specialist
The D7 Pro is a different kind of machine. Himiway lists a Bafang M620 1000W mid-drive motor with 160 Nm, a 960Wh Samsung/LG battery, a 10-speed Shimano drivetrain, full suspension with a RockShox rear shock, and huge 26 x 4.8″ CST tires. It weighs 88.6 lb and is rated for a 400 lb max payload. Price: $3,999.
A 1000W motor is above the 750W limit most U.S. state e-bike class laws are built around, so check where you’re allowed to ride it before you buy. PeopleForBikes keeps a state-by-state summary.
Pros
- Mid-drive with by far the most torque here, which helps on steep, loose climbs
- 4.8″ tires for the most flotation on sand and snow
- Full suspension
Cons
- Roughly twice the price of most bikes here
- Heaviest bike in the list
- No higher payload than the $1,499 Zebra, and no rider limit or UL 2849 listed
Not sure you need fat tires at all? Our fat tire vs regular e-bike comparison lines up three same-brand pairs on weight, payload and range.
Deciding between the top two picks? Our Velotric Nomad 2 vs Nomad 2X breakdown compares their payload, rack ratings, suspension, torque and sizing side by side.
How to choose a fat tire e-bike
1. Start with payload, then subtract
Add up your body weight, your gear and anything on the rack. Then compare it to the published payload with some margin to spare. If the brand doesn’t say whether the number includes the bike itself, assume it might and subtract the bike’s weight to be safe. Our payload guide walks through the math.
2. Look for a rider limit and a rack rating
A 440 lb bike with a 265 lb rider max is a very different bike from a 440 lb bike with no rider limit. Rack ratings matter too: they range from 66 lb to 150 lb in this list, and that decides whether you can carry a cooler, a kid seat or hunting gear.
3. Match the tires to where you ride
Four-inch tires are the standard. The D7 Pro’s 4.8″ tires float better on soft sand and snow but add weight. Twenty-inch fat tires, like the D5 2.0 20″, are easier to handle and mount but give up some rollover. Read our fat tire pros, cons and tire pressure guide before you choose.
4. Check the motor and torque for your terrain
Every hub-motor bike here is rated at 750W, so torque is the better comparison: 80 to 105 Nm on the hub bikes, 160 Nm on the mid-drive. Heavier riders and steep hills benefit most from higher torque and a torque sensor.
5. Prefer UL 2849 certification
UL 2849 covers the whole electrical system, while UL 2271 covers only the battery. In this list, the two Velotric bikes and the Vorsa FT list UL 2849. Our UL 2849 guide explains how to verify a claim.
6. Be honest about weight and storage
These bikes weigh 75 to 88.6 lb. If you need to carry yours up stairs or lift it onto a hitch rack, that matters as much as range.
Mostly hauling kids or groceries? A longtail may suit you better. See our guide to the best cargo e-bikes for families.
Over 6 feet tall? Check the rider height range for the frame size you’d buy. Our best e-bikes for tall riders guide compares fat tire and regular-tire models by published height range and payload.
Riding in winter? See our fat tire e-bike snow and winter guide for battery care, water-resistance ratings and traction tips.
FAQ
What is the best fat tire e-bike in 2026?
It depends on your weight and terrain. On published specs, the Velotric Nomad 2X has the highest payload (560 lb) in this list, the Nomad 2 offers 505 lb for $1,999, and the Ride1Up Vorsa FT is the lowest-priced UL 2849 certified option here.
What is the weight limit on a fat tire e-bike?
The bikes in this guide list 400 lb to 560 lb. Many budget fat tire bikes list less, so always check the spec sheet, and look for a separate rider limit.
Are fat tire e-bikes good for heavy riders?
They can be, because the large air volume supports weight and adds comfort. But the tire doesn’t set the weight limit. The frame, wheels and brakes do. Always choose by the published payload, not the tire size.
Is a fat tire e-bike worth it for commuting?
If your commute includes rough roads, gravel or winter weather, yes. For smooth pavement, a narrower-tire bike is usually lighter and goes farther on the same battery.
Are 1000W fat tire e-bikes street legal?
In many U.S. states, e-bike class rules are built around motors up to 750W, so a 1000W bike may not count as an e-bike for road or trail use. Check your state’s rules first.
Did you test these bikes?
No. This is a research-based comparison built from manufacturer specs and documentation. See How We Review.
Bottom line
If payload is your top priority, the Velotric Nomad 2X and Nomad 2 publish the highest numbers in this list and both carry UL 2849 certification. The Ride1Up Vorsa FT is the value pick with the strongest rack. The Himiway D5 Zebra is the cheapest way into a big battery, the D5 2.0 20″ suits lighter riders who want a low, compact frame, and the D7 Pro is for riders who want mid-drive power off-road and can live with the price and legal fine print. Whatever you choose, confirm the payload definition with the brand before you buy.
Sources
- Velotric Nomad 2X product page and specs: velotricbike.com/products/velotric-nomad-2x (checked October 26, 2026)
- Velotric Nomad 2 product page and specs: velotricbike.com/products/velotric-nomad-2 (checked October 26, 2026)
- Ride1Up Vorsa product page and specs: ride1up.com/product/vorsa (checked October 26, 2026)
- Himiway D5 2.0 20″ product page and specs: himiwaybike.com/products/d5-2-20 (checked October 26, 2026)
- Himiway D5 2.0 (26″) product page: himiwaybike.com/products/himiway-d5 (checked October 26, 2026)
- Himiway D5 (Zebra) product page and specs: himiwaybike.com/products/premium-all-terrain-electric-bike (checked October 26, 2026)
- Aventon Aventure 3 product page and specs: aventon.com/products/aventure-3-ebike (checked October 26, 2026)
- Himiway D7 Pro product page and specs: himiwaybike.com/products/himiway-d7-pro-cobra-electric-hunting-bike (checked October 26, 2026)